Permits, Licenses & Certificates
How to get necessary permits, licenses, and certificates from the Town and the State
Birth & Death Certificates
When a birth occurs, the physician, midwife, or other birth attendant is required to complete a birth certificate and file it with the Town Clerk in the town of birth within 5 days. For hospital births, it is usually the medical records staff who complete the birth certificate. The completed birth certificate is recorded and filed in the town where the birth took place, and a certified copy is sent to the Vermont Health Department. Births at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center are filed with the Town Clerk in Lebanon, NH.
Although a physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse is responsible for filing the death certificate, the job may be, and often is, delegated to the funeral director. Most of the information needed to complete the death certificate is obtained from the family of the deceased. A physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse; however, must complete and certify the cause of death information. Once a death record is completed in the Electronic Death Registration System (EDRS), it is registered and the death certificate is available to the town clerks for filing.
For copies of birth or death certificates, contact Vermont Vital Records.
Certified copies of birth and death certificates filed at the Barnard Town Offices are available for $10 each.
If you want to burn on your property in Barnard, you need to have a permit. You can call either of the Fire Wardens to get an open burn permit. Legally, only brush can be burned, and the burning of building materials is not allowed. The Fire Wardens remind you that common sense should always prevail when burning. Click here for more information on Vermont’s open burning laws.
Barnard’s Forest Fire Wardens are currently:
Scott Mills: Work: 234-7520, Home: 234-9073
Robert Tracy: 234-9785
By law, all dogs 6 months of age or older must be licensed each year. Licenses are available through the Town Office and may be purchased in person or by mail if there is a current rabies certificate on file.
Licenses must be purchased anytime between January 1st and April 1st. There is a late charge if purchased after April 1st.
In order to license your dog you must present the following items to the Town Clerk:
A copy of a valid rabies certificate (unless one is already on file).
Cash, or a check made payable to “Town of Barnard” for the correct amount.
Fees on or before April 1st:
If neutered or spayed: $9.00
If not neutered or spayed: $13.00
Fees after April 1st:
If neutered or spayed: $13.50
If not neutered or spayed: $19.50
Transfer Station Punch Cards
To drop waste at the Barnard Transfer Station, you have to purchase a punch card in the amount of $30 or $55. When you deposit bags of trash and other waste, the Transfer Station attendant will punch your card for the associated fees. When your card runs out of value, you must purchase another.
Transfer Station punch cards can be purchased at the Transfer Station during open hours, or at the Town Office. Punch cards may only be purchased by check payable to the Town of Barnard. Cash is not accepted.
Hunting & Fishing Licenses
To hunt, fish, or trap in and around Barnard, you need a license from the Vermont Fish & Wildlife Department. More information about hunting and fishing licenses and lotteries can be found on the Vermont Fish & Wildlife website, and information on license fees can be found here.
You can buy your license and tags directly from the State online, or in person at one of these local authorized sales agents:
Barnard General Store, 6134 VT 12, Barnard, VT
Silver Lake State Park, 20 State Park Beach Rd, Barnard, VT
Bethel Town Clerk, 134 Main Street, Bethel, VT
Locust Creek Outfitters, 1815 River Street, Bethel, VT
Royalton Town Clerk, 23 Alexander Place, Royalton, VT
To get married in Vermont, you need a marriage license, which are issued in the state by town clerks. If both parties are Vermont residents, you may go to the town clerk in either of your towns of residence. So if one or both of the marrying parties reside in Barnard, you can go to the Town Clerk in Barnard for the marriage license. (Even if you are not getting married in Barnard, but elsewhere in the state.)
If neither marrying parties are Vermont residents, you may get a license from any town clerk in the state.
The license costs $60 (plus $10 for every certified copy) and is valid for 60 days from the date it is issued. During that time period, an authorized person must perform your wedding ceremony — otherwise, the license is void.
For more information about getting married in Vermont, see these Frequently Asked Questions from the Vermont Department of Health .
Vermont notaries public are appointed by county assistant judges. A list of current notaries in the Town of Barnard is available through the Vermont Secretary of State’s index.
In Barnard, the current Town Clerk is also a notary public, and can be found in the Town Office during open hours (Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday from 8am to 3:30pm). The phone number is: 234-9211.
The town of Barnard is divided up into zoning districts. Different kinds of development are permitted in each of the districts. Click here to read Barnard’s zoning regulations. A zoning map showing the zoning districts is available and a full-size version is posted in the Town Office.
Zoning permits are required for erecting, constructing, enlarging or moving any building or structure, and any change in the use of any building or land (for example, changing from residential use to commercial use).
The current Zoning Administrator is Preston Bristow and you may contact him by phone at 234-9211 x 2 or in person on Mondays through Wednesdays between 9 AM and 3:30 PM.
Most zoning permits can be issued by the Zoning Administrator but some are conditional uses that must be reviewed at a public hearing by the Development Review Board. The Zoning Administrator has by law up to 30 days to review and approve permit applications. There is by law an appeal period of 15 days after a zoning permit is issued.
If you’re installing or changing your driveway, you may need an access permit. Applications for access to a town highway are available here. Access to a town highway is reviewed and approved by the highway foreman and Selectboard, not the Zoning Administrator. Applications for access to a state highway are available here and are reviewed and granted by the State.
To subdivide property you will need a Subdivision Permit. A distinction is made between boundary line adjustments, minor subdivisions, and major subdivisions. Boundary line adjustments and minor subdivisions can be approved by the Zoning Administrator. A major subdivision is any subdivision resulting in the creation of three or more lots and requires review at a public hearing before the Development Review Board.
Please note that all subdivisions, whether boundary line adjustments, minor subdivisions, or major subdivisions, must be surveyed.
The current Zoning Administrator is Preston Bristow and you may contact him by phone at 234-9211 x 2 or in person on Mondays through Wednesdays between 9 AM and 2:30 PM.
Water, Wastewater, and Act 250 Permits
For land use changes that involve water supply, wastewater, and anything that might require an Act 250 permit, the State Department of Environmental Conservation has jurisdiction. The easiest way to determine if you need a permit for any such uses is to contact the local DEC Permit Specialist at: 885-8850.
The goal of the Permit Assistance Specialist is to take the mystery, anxiety, and frustration out of the permit process for businesses and the public. The Specialists give you advice about state permits required for your project and help you find the on-line resources and staff who can help you obtain your permit.